The Collaborative Educational Practice Award recognises collaborative approaches that enhance the teaching and learning environment at the UCT.

Three awards of R40 000 per team are available.


Teams of 2 or more UCT staff members who have collaborated on a project to enhance the teaching and learning environment can be nominated. Collaboration might involve a team of lecturers teaching a course, a curriculum-development team or a whole department.

The implementation phase of this project (beyond planning and development) must have been in effect for at least 3 years . There must be evidence of its sustainability, both financially and in terms of staffing. Ongoing evaluation and monitoring systems need to have been used to ensure continuous improvement.

Winners of the CEP award


Jimmy Winfield, Greg Fried, George Hull, Tom Angier, Lara Davison, Anye Nyamnjoh, Gabriele James, Laurence Bloom, Andres Luco and Jessica Lerm

James Lappeman, Paul Egan

Kathy Luckett, Ellen Hurst, Shannon Morreira, Tammy Wilks, Terri Elliott, Siphokazi Jonas, Msakha Mona, Nicole Isaacs, Muya Kuloko, Lee Scharnick-Udemans, Yusra Price, Idriss Kallon, Unathi Nopece, and Ashleigh Edden


Susan Levine, Steve Reid, Peter Anderson, Shose Kessi, Deborah Posel, Lester Davids, Berni Searle, Mdu Kweyama, Mark Solms, Marc Hendricks, Raj Ramesar, Raj Mesthrie, Lorna Martin, Fiona Ross, Janet Small, Andrew Deacon, Jay Pather, Finuala Dowling, Johan Brink, Elelwani Ramugondo, Ali Baghai-Wadji, Philani Sikhakhane, Carla Tsampiras, Sean Baumann, Silke Dyer and Francois Bonicci

Janice McMillan, Vanessa Watson, Jane English, Ulrike Rivett, Jane Battersby-Lennard, Mercy Brown-Luthango, Jesse Burton, Hilton Trollip, Lisa Kane, Harro von Blottnitz and Tanja Winkler

Jacqui Kew, Alexandra Watson, Goolam Modack, Taryn Miller, Gizelle Willows, Don McDonald, Jimmy Winfield, Carla Fourie, Jolandi Gevers, Jacqueline Dean, James Anthony, Carlos Correia, Paul Maughan, Riley Carpenter, Shaun Parsons, Riyaan Mabutha, Sumaya West, Wayne Coetzee and Michael Harber


No awards


Tracy Craig, Trevor Cloete,  Pierre le Roux, and Bruce Kloot

Paul Maughan, Shaun Parsons, Alex Watson, Goolam Modack, Sumaya West, Carlos Correia, Geoff Everingham, Michale Harber and Delano Gallagher

Carolyn McGibbon, Elsje Scott and Gwamaka Mwalemba

Hanna-Andrea Rother, Gregory Doyle and Shanali Govender


Ilse Lubbe, Tessa Minter, Shelly Herbert, Sumaya West, Lisa Seymour and Sumarie Roodt

Goantebale Nodoba , Stuart Henry and Claudia Kalil


Melanie Alperstein Louis Reynolds, Lunelle Pienaar and Viki Janse van Rensburg


No awards


Graham Barr and Leanne Scott

Veronica Mitchell and Athol Kent


David Prillaid and Stuart Hendry

Rachel Weiss and Arlene Archer

Gideon Nomdo, Nasreen narker, Tracy Dennis and Catherine Hutchings


Terri Grant and Claudia Kalil


David Jacobs and Justin O’Riain

Gay Morris and Liz van Breda

Saalih Allie and Andy Buffler

Information supplied by:
Cindy Gilbert
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5837

Updated: 06 March 2018