The South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS), an organisation that aims to be the voice of the country’s young scientists and to help bridge the gap between science and society, seeks to elect South Africa’s leading emerging researchers in basic and applied science, engineering, social sciences, arts and the humanities.

In addition to a demonstrated excellence in research, candidates should be able to show an ongoing commitment to improving science through engagement in community development, capacity building and mentoring activities.

Current members

2023 A/Prof Jessica Auerbach
2021 Professor Genevieve Langdon
Dr Moses Basitere
2020 Dr Hlumani Ndlovu
2019 A/Prof Sudesh Sivarasu
Dr Moses Basitere
2018 Dr Sarah Fawcett
2016 Dr Nomusa Makhubu


2015 Prof Kanshukan Rajaratnam
2014 A/Prof John Ataguba
Dr Sahal Yacoob
2013 Dr Tirivanhu Chinyoka
2012 A/Prof Amanda Weltman
2011 Prof Shadreck Chirikure
Prof Genevieve Langdon
Dr Jeff Murugan