The Department of Science and Innovation's South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) is managed by the National Research Foundation (NRF). The chairs are held by individuals. Their purpose is to strengthen the ability of our universities to produce high-quality research and nurture students.

Faculty of Commerce

  • Creation of decent work and sustainable livelihood – Associate Professor Ines Meyer
  • Economic growth, poverty and inequality: exploring the interactions for South Africa – Professor Haroon Bhorat
  • Poverty and inequality research – Professor Murray Leibbrandt
  • Governance and Economics for Ecological Infrastructure – Professor Martine Visser

Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty of Humanities

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Sciences