Its responsibilities include determining the mission, objectives, goals, strategies and policies for the progress of the institution. It must also ensure an environment conducive to efficient, effective, economical and ethical attainment of these goals.

It has the responsibility of maintaining and ensuring a financially secure, healthy and viable environment and accounting for all decisions taken at UCT, including the submission of the required reports and documents to the Minister of Education.

Ultimate accountability

The Council of an institution, its Senate and vice-chancellor through the Council, are accountable for their actions to the State through the Minister of Education.


The 30-member Council consists of:

  • executive officers
  • other employees of the institution
  • students
  • persons, who are not staff or students, appointed by a wide range of parties.

External members (neither staff nor students of the institution) make up 60% of the total membership.

Members of Council

The Council membership for the period 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2024 is recorded below. The term of appointment is 4 years unless stated otherwise.

Academic and professional administrative and support staff (PASS) elected members (3)

Members elected by donors (2)

Nominee of Cape Town City Council (1)

Nominee of the Premier of the Western Cape (1)

Information supplied by:
Marius Lund
Office of the Registrar
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4004

Updated: 24 April 2024