Professor Maano Ramutsindela

Professor Maano Ramutsindela took up his position as the dean of the Faculty of Science on 1 March 2019.

Prior to his appointment, he was the deputy dean of operations and professor in the Department of Environmental and Geographical Science.

Professor Ramutsindela has served the science faculty in critical committees such as the Ad Hominem Committee, Committee of Assessors and the Executive Committee. He chaired the Faculty of Science Transformation Advisory Committee and served as an elected member of the UCT Council and the Senate Executive Committee. As a member of the Senate Committee of 12, he chaired and participated in committees that handled conflicts. He represented UCT in the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN) and is the founding co-chair of the WUN Global Africa Group.

Having obtained his PhD in Geography from Royal Holloway, University of London, Professor Ramutsindela has gone on to receive the NRF President’s Award, an appointment as Fellow of the Society of South African Geographers, and elected member of the Academy of Science of South Africa. He is the recipient of the NRF Award for the Transformation of the Science Cohort.