The Students’ Representative Council (SRC) is the highest decision-making student body in the university, subject to the powers of the Student Parliament. It represents students in terms of the provisions of the Higher Education Act and the Statute of the University of Cape Town. It consists of 15 registered students elected annually in a campus-wide election. The SRC holds office from 1 November until 31 October in the following year. It runs various programmes for student development and represents students on important university committees throughout its term.

Constitution of the Students’ Representative Council | Election Regulations | Student Governance Model

The SRC Offices are located on Level 7 of the Steve Biko Students’ Union Building on Upper Campus.

It should be noted that the SRC are currently working remotely.

For telephonic enquiries, please call:
Ms Zola Tame, SRC receptionist at 021 650 3537

The SRC members for 2022/2023

The SRC’s official term commenced on 1 November 2022 and will conclude on 31 October 2023.

Portfolio Name Surname Email
President Hlengiwe Dube
Vice-President Swazi Hlophe
Secretary General Onthatile Modise
Deputy Secretary General Erin Dodo
Treasurer General Bhongolethu Tembe
Corporate Relations & Fundraising Co-ordinator Mfumo Hatlane
International Students Co-ordinator Thalente Gumbi
Labour & Student Services Co-ordinator Mila Zibi
Undergraduate Academics Co-ordinator  Imaad Abrahams
Postgraduate Academics Co-ordinator  Yanganani Sibeko
Residence & Housing Co-ordinator Kumkani Goqoza
Social Responsiveness Co-ordinator Sisipho Mathe
Societies & Day Houses Co-ordinator Zandile Kowane
Sports & Recreation Co-ordinator Hlamulo Khorommbi
Student Advocacy Co-ordinator Amandla Lurani