## UCT COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2024 - CONVOCATION NOMINEE



# **SIMPIWE SOBUWA**

### **CONVOCATION NOMINATORS**

- Ms Beatrix Bester
- Mr Siliziwe Ncanywa
- Mrs Raina Gihwala
- Dr Marvin Jansen
- Mr Ryan Matthews
- Mr Naseef Abdullah

## STATEMENT OF INTENT

Dr Sobuwa has extensive experience in governance as he has served eight years as a member of the Council of the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA). He is currently the Vice-President of the HPCSA Council 2020–2025 term and chairs the Remuneration Committee. This Committee oversees all human resources and remuneration matters in the organisation. It approves salary increases for employees in the bargaining chamber and management. He has previously chaired the IT Steering Committee of the HPCSA Council (2016–2020), which oversaw the initial stages of the Service Cloud enhancement project for digitising the organisation. This project is still ongoing and will be completed in 2024.

He has served on the Department of Labour's Compensation Fund Board (2016–2020) and its respective committees. Serving in governance structures as a member of governing bodies and their committees has exposed him to the leadership of corporate entities with extensive knowledge in governance, management, compliance, and risk governance. He has gained further expertise in strategy formulation and implementation.

Dr Sobuwa has also been in academia for 15 years, seven of which he spent as a Head of Department. He has exposure to management in higher education and knowledge transfer.

## **BRIEF CURRICULUM VITAE**

### Qualifications

University of Cape Town (UCT)	
2018	PhD: Emergency Medicine
2012	MSc (Med): Emergency Medicine

Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT)	
2009	BTech: Emergency Medical Care
2009	Higher Diploma: Higher Education & Training
2007	National Diploma: Emergency Medical Care

#### Occupation

Senior Lecturer/Acting HOD Emergency Medical Sciences: Cape Peninsula University of Technology

#### Offices held – current and past

Member of Council: Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) – (2015–2020)

- Chair of the IT Steering Committee of HPCSA Council (2016–2020)
- Member of the Human Resources & Remuneration Committee (REMCO) of the HPCSA Council (2018–2020)

Vice Chair of the HPCSA Professional Board for Emergency Care (2015–2020)

Education Committee Member: Professional Board for Emergency Care (2015–2020)

Member of the Department of Labour's Compensation Fund Board (2016–2020)

- Member of the Technical Committee for Occupational Injuries and Disease (2016–2017)
- Member of the Assessment and Benefits Committee (2018–2020)

Vice President HPCSA Council (2020–2025)

- Chair of the REMCO (2020-2025)
- HPCSA Council EXCO (2020–2025)
- Selection Committee Member for the HPCSA Registrar/CEO

Chair of the HPCSA Professional Board for Emergency Care (2020–2025)