#### **UCT COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2024 – CONVOCATION NOMINEE**



## **VUYANE MHLOMI**

## **CONVOCATION NOMINATORS**

- Emer Assoc Prof Algonda Perez
- Emer Prof Marian Eslie Jacobs
- Assoc Prof Phumla Sinxadi
- Prof Graham Fieggen
- Prof Ntobeko Ntusi
- Mr Sivuyisiwe Khokela Toto

#### STATEMENT OF INTENT

From humble beginnings in Khayelitsha to leadership at UCT, Oxford and as CEO of Quro Medical, I've experienced the transformative power of education. As a UCT student leader and alumnus, and contributor to leadership in higher education and healthcare, I've witnessed the challenges and opportunities facing our university. My journey, marked by distinctions and prestigious awards, underscores my commitment to excellence and innovation.

In my leadership roles, I've championed ethical leadership and governance, strategic insight, and the empowerment of underprivileged communities. The MH Foundation, an initiative I founded, has enabled numerous youths from disadvantaged backgrounds to access quality education, some at UCT. This showcases my dedication to unleashing potential and aligning with the university's values of inclusivity, transformation, and sustainability.

As UCT faces unprecedented challenges, my diverse experiences equip me with a nuanced understanding of academic governance and the foresight needed to steer UCT towards prosperity and resilience. I am committed to ensuring my alma mater thrives as a beacon of hope and opportunity, nurturing future leaders and innovators.

My vision for the University Council is to cultivate a dynamic environment that secures UCT's legacy as a leader in higher education and societal transformation for generations to come.

# **BRIEF CURRICULUM VITAE**

## Education

2017–18	Master of Business Administration (MBA), Saïd Business School, University of Oxford
2014–17	Doctor of Philosophy (DPhil), New College, University of Oxford
2006–11	MBChB (Bachelor of Medicine & Surgery), University of Cape Town
	Degree awarded Distinction in Pre-Clinical and Clinical Sciences and with First Class Honours

## Work experience

2018 - Present	Co-Founder and CEO, Quro Medical (PTY) Ltd
2023 - Present	Trustee, Bongani Mayosi Foundation
2020 - Present	Non-executive Director, Percept Collaborative Advisory
2021 - Present	Part-Time Faculty, Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS), University of Pretoria
2016 - Present	Founder and Chairman, Emergent Health Care Group (EHCG) (PTY) Ltd
2015–18	Junior Dean, New College, University of Oxford
2011 - Present	Founder, MH Foundation

## Leadership and membership

2023 - Current	Fellow: International Strategy Forum, Schmidt Futures
2018 – Current	Member of National Selection Committee (South Africa at Large): Rhodes Scholarship
2017–2018	Vice President: University of Oxford Africa Society
2017	Member: University of Oxford NDOG Athena Swan Assessment Team
2017	Global Goalkeeper, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
2014	Fellow: Oxford Global Leadership Initiative
2014–15	World Economic Forum Global Shaper – Johannesburg Hub
2013–14	National Executive Committee and Treasurer: Junior Doctors Association of South Africa
2008,11	President: University of Cape Town Health Science Students Council
2005	Head Boy: Alexander Sinton High School

## Achievements – since graduation

2023	South African Health Excellence Award Leadership Award
2023	BHF Titanium Awards Young Achievers Award
2023	Discovery Health Emerging Leader Award
2018	Top 100 Most Promising MBA Graduates in the World, Best & Brightest MBAs, Poets & Quants
2018	Winner, Global Opportunities Threats Oxford, Future of Healthcare
2017–2018	Pershing Square Scholarship (Full Scholarship for MBA, University of Oxford)
2016–2017	South African Medical Research Council (MRC) Scholarship
2013	Rhodes Scholarship to University of Oxford (Full Scholarship for PhD)
2013	Mail & Guardian Top 200 Young South Africans
2013	South African Medical Association – Bonitas Young Leaders Award
2013	Destiny Man – Power of 40 (Profiles 40 exceptional South African men under the age of 40)
2012	NYDA South African Youth Awards – Academic Excellence Award
2012	Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital Medical Intern of the Year Award

# Achievements – at university – undergraduate

2011	Dr Helen Brown Prize for Clinical Medicine
2011	Top 3 in Graduating Medical Class – University of Cape Town
2011	Kerry-Capstick Dale Leadership Award (Awarded to 2 students in the University)
2011	Ackerman Family Foundation Student Leadership Award (Awarded to 1 student in university)
2011	UCT Most Outstanding Leader in a Faculty Council Award (Awarded to 1 student in university)
2009	Dean's Merit List
2009	Medicine Honours List
2006–2011	Elaine Forsyth Memorial Bursary